Skip to main content
Following Church of England and Government advice the Cathedral will be closed until further notice.
Follow the Cathedral on Facebook and Twitter for regular updates.
Click here to read more information.
Donate

Festival Services

Festival Services

Following Church of England and Government advice the Cathedral is closed and all services are cancelled until further notice.

When the Cathedral is open and functioning normally, within the Church Calender year we hold seasonal services in the Cathedral. These are in addition to the regular daily services

When the Cathedral is open, each month we publish a Monthly Service Scheme which details the music and daily services in that particular month. For further information contact the Chapter Office.

 

2020 Festival Services - All Services are cancelled until further notice.

Date

Day

Time

Service

Monday 6 January 2020

Epiphany

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 12 January 2020

 

6.30pm

Epiphany Carol Service

Friday 17 January 2020

 

5.30pm

St Wulfstan's Evensong

Sunday 19 January 2020

St Wulfstan's Day

10.30am

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 2 February 2020

 

6.30pm

Readings and Music for Candlemas

Saturday 2 February 2020

Candlemas

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist with Procession of Candles

Wednesday 26 February 2020

Ash Wednesday

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist with Imposition of Ashes

Saturday 29 February 2020

St Oswald's Day

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 22 March 2020

Mothering Sunday

10.30am
6.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sung Eucharist

Monday 25 March 2019

The Annunciation of Our Lord

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 29 March 2020

 

 

6.30pm

Music  and Readings for Passiontide

Sunday 5 April 2020

Palm Sunday

10.30am
4.00pm

Sung Eucharist with Procession of Palms
Meditation for Holy Week

Monday 6 April 2020

Monday of Holy Week

11.00am
8.00pm

Chrism Eucharist
Compline with Address

Tuesday 7 April 2020

Tuesday of Holy Week

8.00pm

Compline with Address

Wednesday 8 April 2020

Wednesday of Holy Week

8.00pm

Compline with Address

Thursday 9 April 2020

Maundy Thursday

1.10pm
8.00pm

A Meditation for Maundy Thursday
The Liturgy of Maundy Thursday

Friday 10 April 2020

Good Friday

1.30pm

The Liturgy of Good Friday

Saturday 11 April 2020

Easter Eve

8.00pm

The Easter Liturgy 

Sunday 12 April 2020

Easter Day

10.30am
4.00pm

Sung Eucharist
Easter Sunday Evensong

Thursday 21 May 2020

Ascension Day

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 31 May 2020

Pentecost (Whitsunday)

10.30am
4.00pm

Sung Eucharist

Sung Eucharist with Confirmations

Sunday 7 June 2020

Translation of St Wulfstan
(Dedication Festival)

10.30am

4.00pm

6.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Benefactors Evensong

Sung Eucharist

Thursday 11 June 2020

Corpus Christi

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 14 June 2020  

4.00pm

Civic Service

Saturday 4 July 2020

 

2.00pm

Ordination of Priests

Sunday 5 July 2020

 

10.30am

Ordination of Deacons 

Saturday 25 July 2020

3 Choirs Festival

11.00am

Opening Service

Saturday 15 August 2020

The Blessed Virgin Mary

5.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 4 October 2020

Harvest

10.30am
6.30pm

Sung Eucharist
Farmers' Harvest Service 

Sunday 1 November 2020

All Saints' Day

10.30am

Sung Eucharist

Monday 2 November 2020

All Souls' Day

7.30pm

Sung Eucharist

Sunday 8 November 2020

Remembrance Sunday

10.00am
10.55am
6.30pm

Service of  Remembrance
Act of Remembrance at County War Memorial
Requiem Eucharist

Wednesday 11 November 2020

Armistice Day

10.55am

Act of Remembrance at County War Memorial

Sunday 22 November 2020

Christ the King

6.30pm

Sung Eucharist with Confirmations

Sunday 29 November 2020

Advent Sunday

6.30pm

Advent Candlelit Procession

Sunday 13 December 2020

 

6.30pm

Music and Readings for Christmas

Tuesday 22 December 2020

 

6.30pm

Cathedral Carol Service

Wednesday 23 December 2020

 

6.30pm

Cathedral Carol Service

Thursday 24 December 2020

Christmas Eve

1.00pm

3.00pm
5.30pm
11.30pm

Crib Service

Crib Service
Evening Service with Carols
Midnight Eucharist

Friday 25 December 2020

Christmas Day

10.30am
4.00pm

Sung Eucharist
Choral Evensong

Some dates and service times may change before these events. This page was last updated 24 March 2020