Planned Closures

Worcester Cathedral is open 365 days of the year, 7.30am to 6.00pm, and is free to enter.  There will, however, be occasions when access will need to be restricted to some, or very occasionally all, of the Cathedral while services or events take place.  We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but where possible we will include details on this webpage. If you would like further advice on your visit, please contact our office on (+44) (0) 1905 732900 or info@worcestercathedral.org.uk

 

Every week:

Every day, Monday to Saturday, access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 5pm as we prepare for our daily service of Choral Evensong (or Evening Prayer) at 5.30pm. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

Every Sunday we hold our main Sung Eucharist at 10.30am; all are welcome to attend, but the cathedral does not open for sightseeing until 12 noon after the service has finished. The Cloisters remain open to visitors, and our Cloister Café begins serving at 10.00am. (At some points in the year – usually in March, August and December – our Sunday morning Eucharist takes place in the quire, and it is possible to visit the nave while it takes place.)

Every Sunday access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 3.30pm as we prepare for the service of Choral Evensong at 4pm. These areas will reopen after 5pm when the service has finished. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

 

April 2018

Monday 9 April to Thursday 12 April:
Access to parts of the Nave is restricted to allow for work to take place on the West window

Saturday 14 April:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 9.00am - 11.00am (private event)

Sunday 15 April:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 3.00pm onwards (choir rehearsal)

Thursday 19 April:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 8.30am - 10.00am (school service)

Friday 20 April:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 2.30pm onwards (private event)

Saturday 21 April:
Quire, north Quire aisle and Lady Chapel are closed to visitors from 10.45am - 12.30pm (Qatia Day service) There will be no 11am tour.

Sunday 22 April:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 1.30pm - 3.15pm (Scouts St George's Day service)

Wednesday 25 April:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 9.30am - 3.00pm (schools event)

Thursday 26 April:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 12.00pm - 3.00pm (schools event)

Friday 27 April:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.30am - 1.00pm (schools event)

Saturday 28 April:
The Quire and East End, including Crypt and Lady Chapel, are closed to visitors from 11.00am - 1.30pm (wedding)

Sunday 29 April:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 3.00pm - 5.00pm (County Civic service)
Chapter House closed to visitors 4.00pm - 6.30pm (service refreshments)

May 2018


Wednesday 2 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors until 2.30pm (private event)

Saturday 5 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 1.00pm onwards (concert preparations)

Tuesday 8 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 2.30pm (schools event)
Lady Chapel closed to visitors from 3.00pm - 4.30pm (examination)

Wednesday 9 May:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 8.30am - 10.00am (school service)

Friday 11 May:
Nave closed to visitors all day (event setup)

Saturday 12 May:
Nave closed to visitors until 4.00pm (event de-rig and cleaning)

Monday 14 May:
Lady Chapel closed to visitors 10.30am - 12.00pm (retired clergy service)

Monday 14 May - Thursday 17 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors (event setup)

Sunday 20 May:
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.00pm - 3.30pm (RAF100 service)

Monday 21 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors 10.00am - 2.00pm (schools event)

Tuesday 22 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 3.00pm (schools event)

Friday 25 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 3.00pm (schools event)

Wednesday 30 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to the West Gardens and Nave may be restricted, all day (3 Counties Show launch event)

 

Please note further closures may be scheduled between now and your visit. This list was last updated on Tuesday 10 April 2018.

Website Design by WBPT